Editor’s note: This article was originally published on November 5, 2018. It has been edited for accuracy and to resolve broken links.
To be gluten-free, or not to be gluten-free, that is the question. Adopting a gluten free lifestyle may be a personal lifestyle choice, but for those with Celiac disease, it’s necessary.
What is gluten?
According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, gluten is,
“…a general name for the proteins found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale–a cross between wheat and rye. Gluten helps foods maintain their shape, acting as a glue that holds food together.”
There are many food items that may contain gluten, often in hidden or unexpected ways. In order for a package to contain the label “gluten free,” it must meet the FDA guidelines of containing less than 20 parts per million.
This is where things can get tricky. While the gluten-free stamp of approval is a great resource, it is always important to use a detective eye to look out for hidden or unexpected sources of gluten by reading the product’s ingredient list and where it was manufactured.
Be mindful of these 8 ingredients and foods that may have a hidden source of gluten.
Traditional soy sauce contains wheat (listed first on the ingredients). A gluten free soy sauce alternative is tamari.
Although french fries are made from potatoes some restaurants may buy them frozen with a flour coating so they are crispier when fried, making them no longer gluten-free. In addition, french fries or anything else added to the fryer at a restaurant can be cross- contaminated when deep fried in oil that is also used with other wheat contaminated foods.
While rice is naturally gluten-free, flavored rice cereals have malt flavoring listed as an ingredient and malt is a hidden source of gluten. Malt is made from barley grains and barley needs to be avoided by gluten intolerant individuals.
Some bouillon cubes have gluten in it, so make sure to check your label. Gluten is usually added to hold the little squares together a bit easier or to add some thickness to the broth it creates.
Energy Bars/Granola Bars
Some bars may contain wheat as an ingredient, and most use oats that are not certified gluten-free.
Salad Dressings and Marinades
These may contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour.
Brown Rice Syrup
Brown rice is gluten-free, but brown rice syrup may be made with barley enzymes.
Eggs Served at Restaurants
Why does where it was manufactured matter, when all the ingredients in a package are gluten-free? For example, the ingredient oats, which are technically gluten-free, are often manufactured in the same processing plant along with gluten containing ingredients, which puts those oats at risk for cross- contamination. Look for oats that have a gluten-free label to ensure they were manufactured in a gluten-free facility.
Besides food, gluten can even sneak into your non-food products, such as vitamins, lipstick, and even toothpaste.
Bottom line: Make sure you fully read the nutrition label, ingredient list, and where the product was manufactured. Then, check again! One brand that you are used to getting might change the recipe for their product and may no longer be gluten-free.
Explore Performance Kitchen’s entire line of convenient gluten-free products here.
Did you enjoy this post? Stay in the know with more nutrition tips, and exclusive promo offers — join our newsletter.